Halloween Horror Movie Marathon: ‘Kairo (Pulse)’

KairoKairo (Pulse) (2001) Directed by Kiyoshi Kurosawa. Starring Haruhiko Katô, Kumiko Aso, Koyuki, Masatoshi Matsuo, Kurume Arisaka, Kenji Mizuhashi.

Boy, this one’s a downer. Kairo is a slow moving film from Japan about ghosts using computers to reach into the real world and drag the living into loneliness and despair.

It took me a while to fall into the crawling pace early on, probably because I was still reeling from the action of the previous film. Had I known, I might have chosen to watch this one first.

I can’t get into the details of this one right now; it affected me far too much. It’s themes of loneliness and isolation as a result of technology got to me, particularly considering I watched the movie alone… on a computer…

That said there’s an inherent irony anytime someone uses technology to relay an anti-technology message that makes me take the whole affair with a grain of salt. At least upon reflection. Not that the point Kairo makes is necessarily less relevant because of the chosen medium.

I am curious, though, what the the director, who also wrote the film, thinks about the state of technology today and the proliferation of social interaction on the Internet today– Facebook, IM, texting, blogging… He might have it wrong; the Internet is not called a ‘network’ for nothing! … but while I was here, alone, watching Kairo on a computer… the dark tone of isolation the film strives for struck me hard.

All right, time to move on…

Leave a Reply

