Halloween Horror Movie Marathon: ‘The Curse of Frankenstein’

The Curse of FrankensteinThe Curse of Frankenstein (1957) Directed by Terence Fisher. Starring Peter Cushing, Robert Urquhart, Hazel Court, Cristopher Lee, Valerie Gaunt.

I have some serious catching up to do when it comes to horror films produced by Hammer Films. Might as well get caught up by watching the film that started Hammer’s legendary run of films throughout the ’50s and ’60s, The Curse of Frankenstein.

I’ll keep this short: it is superb, of course. The Gothic sets are fantastic, Peter Cushing is great as the arrogant Victor Frankenstein, and Christopher Lee shambles through a physically intimidating performance that only hints at the sorrow of the creature demonstrated in the 1931 film. I also appreciated the “twist” at the end that is revealed in the film’s framing device, though I suppose the ensuing sequels reveal the answer to the question raised.

Well, sorry to cut this one short but let’s see if I can squeeze in one more film before I prepare for an evening of trick or treating with my son.

One Response to “Halloween Horror Movie Marathon: ‘The Curse of Frankenstein’”

  1. Michael K vaughan Says:

    Lee’s monster has to be the scariest Frankenstein monster ever. When I saw this as a child, I was not expecting it at all. I thought I would get my old friend from Universal. Nope. Unlike Karloff’s monster I just though “crap, somebody kill that fucking thing!” It scared the hell out of me and I couldn’t fall asleep at all after seeing it.

Leave a Reply

