Halloween Horror Movie Marathon: Recap and Awards

Ghost Girl

Another Halloween, another twenty or so movies come and gone. Time to wrap up the Halloween Horror Movie Marathon!

Haunted houses. One shape-shifting alien. One ancient Mayan pyramid home to living, man-eating plants. Organ harvesting. Monster from the deep. Slaughter on a raft. Achilles tendon severing. Leg amputation. A hand mangled in a lawnmower. A building made of wax. Fear. Despair. Loneliness. Tragedy.

Amid all of the creatures, ghosts, and various undead, maniac killers seemed to be the prevalent theme this Halloween with seven of the twenty-two movies containing homicidal nutjobs of one kind or another. That wasn’t really what I intended, but there you have it.

Here’s a quick rundown of what I saw with trailers linked:

I believe I hit twenty movies last year. Looks like I passed that up by two! Hooray for me? Shall we pass out some awards? The ceremony was held by moonlight, hidden deep in the dark foliage on the hill near my home. Cthulhu was forced to abstain since he starred in one of the films. That was not easy; he was one pissed Great Old One.

Number of movies that brought me closer to completing the list of ‘333 Movies to Scare You to Death‘: 7

Scariest movie: Insidious, hands down, one of the scariest movies I’ve seen in a long time.

Best performance: Rutger Hauer in Hobo With a Shotgun

Cheesiest performance: These dudes from Hobo With a Shotgun
 

Worst performance: Emma Roberts babbling on at the end of Scream 4

Movie that left me nearly suicidal it was so damned depressing: Kairo

Bloodiest movie: Hobo With a Shotgun

Most deaths: Hobo With a Shotgun

Most creative death: manhole cover decapitation in Hobo With a Shotgun (yeah, this is quite a movie)

Best cinematography: the lovely black and white work by Freddie Francis in The Innocents
The Innocents

Best jump scare: The cabinets in Paranormal Activity 2

Most horrifying shot that wasn’t meant to be horrifying: Fisher Stevens mooning the camera in The Burning

Most surprisingly entertaining movie: House of Wax (2006)

Greatest facial expression: The red-haired, constantly bug-eyed Norwegian in The Thing (2011)

Most disappointing: The Haunting

Movie where the characters covered the most ground but effectively went nowhere: Turistas

Movie I was too hard on: Paranormal Activity 2

Movie that made me question why I watch this stuff: Funny Games

Best Poltergeist homage: the dude sleeping on a steak in the kitchen in Insidious

Two reasons I should choose my films more carefully and not just pick the first thing that pops up on Netflix Streaming: Eskalofrío (Shiver) and Shadow.

Worst movie: Scream 4

Best movie: [REC2] with Hobo and Insidious tied for a close, close second.

There you have it. Not much bloodier than last year but a lot more tragic. Still, we had a lot of fun, didn’t we? I’m already looking forward to next year. Hey, maybe I’ll try something new next time, like watch the entire run of a popular series.

Ah, Halloween is a great time to watch horror. But just because it’s over doesn’t mean the horror movies have to stop! Fear plays all year, my dear. Happy Halloween!

2 Responses to “Halloween Horror Movie Marathon: Recap and Awards”

  1. Michael K Vaughan Says:

    That’s right Justin, keep with the Horror! My Halloween (if mine can be called that) sucked ass this year so I have to catch up. Though I enjoy all your rambles…except for that time when you were kidnapped and somebody pretending to be you wrote about that Julia Childs movie. Now THAT was scary. I find Last One to the Party the only good reason to check facebook lately so please keep it up.

  2. Michael K Vaughan Says:

    I just watched Insidious. This is the scariest movie you have seen in a long time? Holy crap! Insidious is about as scary (well almost as scary) as a good episode of Scooby-Doo. Not that I didn’t enjoy it, it was a lot of fun. I really liked the last half-hour. It reminded me of some strange cross between a Dr. Strange comic and the Haunted Mansion ride at Disneyland. But scary? What part?

Leave a Reply

